Quidditch Through the Ages

By Kennilworthy Whisp

“At Queerditch Marsh, however, a game had been created that would one day become the most popular in the wizarding world.”

As every fan of the Harry Potter stories knows, the shelves of the Hogwarts Library are home to all sorts of fascinating books. There are three in particular you might have heard mentioned by certain Hogwarts students, and that you can add to your reading list too, including Quidditch Through the Ages.

Maybe you dream of catching the elusive Golden Snitch to the sound of deafening cheers all around you, as a certain Harry Potter once did. Or perhaps, like Hermione Granger, your thirst for knowledge is somehow just never quite satisfied. Whether you’re a seasoned fan or a complete newcomer to the sport, you’ll be in good company when you pick up this particular Hogwarts Library book.

From its origins on Queerditch Marsh in the eleventh century to the sophisticated sport played today, discover how ‘Quidditch unites witches and wizards from all walks of life, bringing us together to share moments of exhilaration, triumph and (for those who support the Chudley Cannons) despair’, according to Professor Albus Dumbledore’s foreword.

Do you know why refereeing a Quidditch match was once a task for only the bravest witches and wizards, or how to tell a Transylvanian Tackle from a Woollongong Shimmy? In this enlightening and highly popular Hogwarts library book, Kennilworthy Whisp reveals the daring highs and dangerous lows of the glorious game of Quidditch.

Quidditch Through the Ages book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

Keys to the Demon Prison

By Brandon Mull

Since ancient times, the great demon prison Zzyzx has protected the world from the most dangerous servants of darkness, including Gorgrog, the Demon King. After centuries of plotting, the Sphinx is on the verge of recovering the five artifacts necessary to open the legendary prison.

Facing the potential of a world-ending calamity, all friends of light must unite in a final effort to thwart the Sphinx’s designs and find a safe home for the five artifacts. To this end, Kendra, Seth, and the Knights of the Dawn will venture far beyond the walls of Fablehaven to strange and exotic magical preserves across the globe, where the end of every quest becomes the beginning of another. In this explosive series finale, allegiances will be confirmed and secrets revealed as the forces of light and darkness collide in a desperate struggle to control the keys to the demon prison.

Keys to the Demon Prison book cover
Amazon
B & N
GOOGLE
KOBO

Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary

By Brandon Mull

Two hidden artifacts have been found. Three more remain unrecovered. More preserves face destruction as the Society of the Evening Star relentlessly pursues new talismans. Reading in Patton’s Journal of Secrets, Kendra learns the location of the key to a vault housing one of the artifacts. In order to retrieve it, the Knights of the Dawn must enter a death trap — a dragon sanctuary called Wyrmroost. The mission cannot proceed without stealing a sacred object zealously guarded by the centaurs. Anybody seen Seth?

The race is on to acquire all five of the artifact keys to the great demon prison. Will the Knights of the Dawn conquer Wyrmroost? Who can stop the Sphinx? Can Vanessa be trusted to help? What artifact will be found next? Find out in Fablehaven: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary.

Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary book cover
Amazon
B & N
GOOGLE
KOBO

Quadehar the Sorcerer

By Erik L’Homme

The first book in an action-packed fantasy trilogy–THE BOOK OF STARS–from an up-and-coming talented new French author.

Welcome to the island of the Ys, a piece of land lost somewhere beween the Real World and the Unsure World. On the Ys, children go to school and play games just like other children . But they also live among knights and wizards who protect them from the dark forces of the Unsure World–a place where bandits, giants, and monstrous creatures live on a treacherous landscape.
On the Ys lives is a twelve-year-old boy named Guillemot de Troil, who dreams of becoming a knight. Guillemot lives with his mother, his father having mysteriously disappeared years ago.

Quadehar The Sorcerer book cvoer
Amazon
GOOGLE

Brisingr

By Christopher Paolini

The Empire is at war and the stakes have never been higher in the third book of the Inheritance Cycle, perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings! This New York Times bestselling series has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation. 

Oaths sworn . . . loyalties tested . . . forces collide. 

Eragon is the greatest hope to rid the land of tyranny. Can this once simple farm boy unite the rebel forces and defeat the king? Following the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors, Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives. Still, there is more adventure at hand for the Rider and his dragon, as Eragon finds himself bound by a tangle of promises he may not be able to keep.

When unrest claims the rebels and danger strikes from every corner, Eragon must make choices-choices that will take him across the Empire and beyond, choices that may lead to unimagined sacrifice.

Brisingr book cover
Amazon
B & N
Apple
GOOGLE
KOBO

Oakleaf Bearers

By John Flanagan

Oakleaf Bearers is the fourth thrilling book in John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series – over eight million sold worldwide.

 

Evanlyn has been taken captive by a mysterious horseman. Will’s attempts to rescue her lead him into the territory of a fearsome new enemy.

 

Now, he must unite with old rivals to vanquish this greater threat. But can the fragile truce survive the battle?

 

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series and Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.

Oakleaf Bearers
Amazon
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

Stravaganza: City of Secrets

By Mary Hoffman

The latest installment in the critically acclaimed Stravaganza series begins with Matt, the new Stravagante. Despite having a beautiful and very smart girlfriend, Matt is insecure because he is dyslexic. He discovers that he is capable of traveling between two worlds when a leather-bound book transports him from his home in England to Talia, the parallel-world version of Italy, where he meets a fellow-Stravagante named Luciano-who is hiding from the powerful di Chimici family. Luciano has just killed the head of that family in a duel, and is in grave danger. Banding together, Matt and Luciano must resist the di Chimici family, who are on the verge of making a terrifying breakthrough
into our world.

Stravaganza: City of Secrets
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

Grip of the Shadow Plague

By Brandon Mull

“The Fablehaven series is generating buzz as a contender in the fantasy-adventure genre to replace the Harry Potter franchise.”
—Hollywood Reporter

“Like Harry PotterFablehaven can be read aloud in a family with as much pleasure for grownups as for children.”
—Orson Scott Card

 

Strange things are afoot at Fablehaven. Someone or something has released a plague that transforms beings of light into creatures of darkness. Seth discovers the problem in its infancy, but as the infectious disease spreads, it becomes clear that the preserve cannot hold out for long.

In dire need of help, the Sorensons question where to turn. The Sphinx has always given sound advice—but is he a traitor? Inside the Quiet Box, Vanessa might have information that could lead to a cure—but can she be trusted?

Meanwhile, Kendra and members of the Knights of the Dawn must journey to a distant preserve and retrieve another hidden artifact. Will the Society of the Evening Star recover it first? Will the plague eclipse all light at Fablehaven? Find out in Fablehaven: Grip of the Shadow Plague.

Grip of the Shadow Plague book cover
Amazon
B & N
GOOGLE
KOBO

Nightrise

By Anthony Horowitz

The third heart-pounding book in #1 NYT bestselling author Anthony Horowitz’s spellbinding The Gatekeepers series.

A gate has been opened. The Old Ones have been released. And now the third and fourth of The Five — twins with a mysterious psychic bond — are joining the fight.

Nightrise
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

The Subtle Knife

By Philip Pullman

This graphic novel adaptation of The Subtle Knife is a great entry point for readers new to the remarkable world of His Dark Materials and an exciting new look at the classic from Philip Pullman.

The stunning full-color art in this graphic novel offers both new and returning readers a chance to experience the story of Lyra, an ordinary girl with an extraordinary role to play in the fates of multiple worlds, in an entirely new way.

In The Subtle Knife, Lyra steps into a new world and meets Will–a boy on the run, a murderer–a worthy and welcome ally. For this is a world where soul-eating Specters stalk the streets and witches share the skies with troops of angels.

Each is searching–Lyra for the meaning of Dark Matter, Will for his missing father–but what they find instead is a deadly secret, a knife of untold power. And neither Lyra nor Will suspects how tightly their lives, their loves, their destinies are bound together…until they are split apart.

The Subtle Knife
AMAZON
B & N
APPLE
GOGGLE
KOBO

The Titan’s Curse

By Rick Riordan

When the goddess Artemis goes missing, she is believed to have been kidnapped. And now it’s up to Percy and his friends to find out what happened. Who is powerful enough to kidnap a goddess?

Titan's Curse
amazon
b & N
apple
google
KOBO

Artemis Fowl and the Lost Colony

By Eoin Colfer

Ten thousand years ago, humans and fairies fought a great battle for the magical island of Ireland. When it became clear to the fairy families that they could never win, they decided to move their civilization underground and keep themselves hidden from the humans. All the fairy families agreed on this, except the 8th family, the demons. The demons planned to lift their small island out of time until they had regrouped and were ready to wage war on the humans once more. However the time spell went wrong, and the island of Hybras was catapulted into Limbo, where it has remained for ten thousand years.

Artemis Fowl and the Lost Colony
amazon
B & N
apple
google
KOBO

Discover Stories You’ll Love.

Handpicked eBook deals and recommendations straight to your inbox. Plus our “Weekly Subscriber Giveaway!”

Sign Up And Get Free Books Today!