Below are the top 10 books you can jump into after finishing “And Then There Were None” by Agatha Christie.

The Allegory of the Cave

By Plato

Plato’s Allegory of the Cave is one of the most elegant and important metaphors in Western philosophy. It is a dialogue between Plato’s brother Glaucon and his mentor Socrates, narrated by the latter, in which Plato elucidates his Theory of Forms.

The Allegory of the Cave book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

Hansel and Gretel

By Neil Gaiman

“If this isn’t the definitive edition of Hansel and Gretel, it’s absolutely necessary.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Best-selling author Neil Gaiman and fine artist Lorenzo Mattotti join forces to create Hansel & Gretel, a stunning book that’s at once as familiar as a dream and as evocative as a nightmare. Mattotti’s sweeping ink illustrations capture the terror and longing found in the classic Brothers Grimm fairy tale. Gaiman crafts an original text filled with his signature wit and pathos that is sure to become a favorite of readers everywhere, young and old.

Hansel and Gretel book cover
Amazon
B & N
GOOGLE

Photo Finish

By Ngaio Marsh

A diva is dead in New Zealand . . . “A neat little puzzle, sparkling writing . . .a book that should make all readers happy.” —The New York Times

The soprano Isabella Sommita was widely loathed, so much so that the problem with solving her murder is less a lack of plausible suspects than an embarrassment of options. On a lavish island estate, cut off from the mainland by a sudden storm, Roderick Alleyn is among the guests, and fortunately can take charge in the coppers’ absence, in this delightful detective novel by the Mystery Writers of America Grand Master.

“Her socialite detective, Roderick Alleyn, has a deft touch, and combines savoir faire with keen analytical abilities, quite in the Scotland Yard tradition.” —Kirkus Reviews

Photo Finish book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

The Twelve Dancing Princesses

By Marianna Mayer

For generations, children have loved the enchanting story of the twelve beautiful princesses and the handsome young lad who solves the mystery of their tattered shoes.

Now Marianna Mayer brings to life all the splendor and romance of this beloved classic, from the dazzling forests Of silver, gold, and diamonds to a twilight palace where the bewitched princesses dance to hypnotic music. And award-winning artist Kinuko Craft add, her own magic: a visual feast of exquisite, jewel-like paintings that sweep across the pages.

Together, Mayer and Craft have created an unforgettable world that readers of all ages will want to return to again and again.

The twelve dancing princesses book cover
Amazon
B & N
GOOGLE

Snow: A Retelling of “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs”

By Tracy Lynn

“ONCE UPON A TIME”
IS TIMELESS

The Duchess Jessica’s childhood began with a tragedy: her mother’s death. Her father, heartbroken at the loss of his beloved wife, could not bear to raise the child. Largely ignored, Jessica spent the first eleven years of her life running free on the family estate, cared for only by the servants.

Then her father decides to remarry, bringing an end to Jessica’s independence. At first her new stepmother just seems overly strict. But as Jessica grows into a beautiful young woman, it becomes clear that her stepmother is also wildly — and murderously — jealous of her.

Jessica escapes to London. Going by the name Snow to hide from her family, she falls in love with an odd band of outcasts who accept her into their makeshift family. But when her stepmother appears in the city, repentant and seeking her forgiveness, Jessica will have to decide whom to trust…with her life.

Snow: A Retelling of "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" book cover
Amazon
B & N
GOOGLE
KOBO

The Tragedy of Z

By Ellery Queen

Patience Thumm, the adventurous daughter of an NYPD inspector, teams up with actor Drury Lane to solve the mystery of a senator’s murder.

Patience Thumm has just traveled the world. She turned heads in London, sipped absinthe in Tunis, and debated philosophy on the Left Bank of Paris. When she returns home to New York with a smuggled copy of Lady Chatterley’s Lover in her bag, her father, the NYPD’s Inspector Thumm, is quite unprepared to handle her. At first, it seems they have nothing in common—but the two soon discover a shared appetite for murder.
 
When a corrupt senator is stabbed to death in his study, Patience can’t resist hunting for the killer. With the help of her father’s old friend Drury Lane, the legendary Shakespearean actor, she will find that all the exotic cities of the world can’t offer anything as exciting as a New York homicide. 

The Tragedy of Z book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

The Girl in the Gatehouse

By Julie Klassen

Miss Mariah Aubrey, banished after a scandal, hides herself away in a long-abandoned gatehouse on the far edge of a distant relative’s estate. There, she supports herself and her loyal servant the only way she knows how–by writing novels in secret.

Captain Matthew Bryant, returning to England successful and wealthy after the Napoleonic wars, leases an impressive estate from a cash-poor nobleman, determined to show the society beauty who once rejected him what a colossal mistake she made. When he discovers an old gatehouse on the property, he is immediately intrigued by its striking young inhabitant and sets out to uncover her identity, and her past. But the more he learns about her, the more he realizes he must distance himself. Falling in love with an outcast would ruin his well-laid plans.

The old gatehouse holds secrets of its own. Can Mariah and Captain Bryant uncover them before the cunning heir to the estate buries them forever?

The Girl in the Gatehouse book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

And the Trees Crept In

By Dawn Kurtagich

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the “blood manor” is cursed. The creaking of the house and the stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too–the questions that Silla can’t ignore: Who is the beautiful boy that’s appeared from the woods? Who is the man that her little sister sees, but no one else? And why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer?
Filled with just as many twists and turns as The Dead House, and with achingly beautiful, chilling language that delivers haunting scenes, AND THE TREES CREPT IN is the perfect follow-up novel for master horror writer Dawn Kurtagich.

And the Trees Crept In book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

Ripper

By Stefan Petrucha

Panic grips the city!
There is a killer loose in New York City, and Carver Young is the only one who sees the startling connection between the recent string of murders and the most famous serial killer in history: Jack the Ripper. Time is winding down until the killer claims another victim, but Carver soon sees that, to The Ripper, this is all a game that he may be destined to lose.

“Petrucha’s story hits the ground running and doesn’t let up…”—Publisher’s Weekly
“A rollicking story full of cannot-put-it-down twists an turns.” —VOYA
“A well-crafted romp through yesteryear’s New York.” —Kirkus Reviews

Ripper book cover
Amazon
B & N
APPLE
GOOGLE
KOBO

Baby Teeth

By Zoje Stage

“A deliciously creepy read.”New York Post

MEET HANNA: Seven-year-old Hanna is a sweet-but-silent angel in the eyes of her adoring father Alex. He’s the only person who understands her. But her mother Suzette stands in her way, and she’ll try any trick she can think of to get rid of her. Ideally for good.

MEET SUZETTE: Suzette loves her daughter, but after years of expulsions and strained home schooling, her precarious health and sanity are weakening day by day. She’s also becoming increasingly frightened by Hanna’s little games, while her husband Alex remains blind to the failing family dynamics. Soon, Suzette starts to fear that maybe their supposedly innocent baby girl may have a truly sinister agenda.
A battle of wills between mother and daughter reveals the frailty and falsehood of familial bonds in award-winning playwright and filmmaker Zoje Stage’s tense novel of psychological suspense, Baby Teeth.

“Unnerving and unputdownable, Baby Teeth will get under your skin and keep you trapped in its chilling grip until the shocking conclusion.”New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline

Baby Teeth book cover
AMAZON
B & N
APPLE
GOGGLE
KOBO

Discover Stories You’ll Love.

Handpicked eBook deals and recommendations straight to your inbox. Plus our “Weekly Subscriber Giveaway!”

Sign Up And Get Free Books Today!